Massive Number of Refugees from Travel-Restricted Countries Enters U.S. In 2017


A new report from Pew research shows 2,466 refugees from six countries under Trump’s new travel restrictions have resettled in the United States since the new president took office.

The countries include Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. According to Pew Research, the number of refugees that have entered from these six countries represents 32% of all refugees accepted since January.

The new report from Pew Research also reveals 3,410 of the 7,594 refugees that have entered the U.S. during Trump’s first seven weeks in office are Muslim (45%) and 3,292 are Christian (43%).

In the fiscal year 2017, Syria, Somalia, and Iran are the leading nationalities of refugees who have entered the U.S. — 5,585 Syrians, 4,703 Somalians, and 1,893 Iranians.

Continue Reading

Posting Policy
We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse. Read more.

Trending on Liberty Alliance

Don't miss a thing. Sign up for our email newsletter to become a Liberty Alliance insider.

Send this to friend